Individual and Systems Advocacy

The Independent Living Center provides advocacy on both an individual and systems level. On the individual level, we can help you to acquire the services and benefits to which you are entitled. The ILC has staff experienced in advocating on behalf of individuals with disabilities. We have been instrumental in affecting disability policy on both a state and federal level.

Central Peninsula Advocate Contacts

907-262-6333

Melissa Kline: IL Advocate and Office Manager mkline@peninsulailc.org

Kellie Bartelmay: IL Advocate kbartelmay@peninsulailc.org

Maggie Winston: Systems Advocate mwinston@peninsulailc.org

Seward Advocate Contact

907-224-8711

Charlotte Nicolet: IL Advocate cnicolet@peninsulailc.org

Jamie Barrett: TRAILS Advocate jbarret@peninsulailc.org

Homer Advocate Contacts

907-235-7911

Dean Sundmark: IL Advocate and Office Manager dsundmark@peninsulailc.org

Risa Jackinsky: IL Advocate rjackinsky@peninsulailc.org

David Lewis: Systems Advocate dlewis@peninsulailc.org

Tela Bacher: TRAILS Advocate (systems advocacy for accessible recreation) tbacher@peninsulailc.org

Links to partner agencies

Alaska Governer’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education

Statewide Independent Living Council of Alaska (SILC)

Peer Power

Northwest ADA Center

Disability Law Center of Alaska

Alaska Legal Services

Alaska Landlord/Tenant Hotline: Thursdays 6:00-8:00pm, 855-743-1001

Homer News article on advocacy efforts for accessible voting machines 10/29/15

Homer News Voting Machine Article